The 5 Love Languages

Are you thriving in your relationship or merely going through the motions to get through the day?  Whatever the status of your romantic relationship, I encourage you to read The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman.  Chapman explains that each of us falls into the category of one of the following love languages:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gift
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

It is when we know what our partners love language is that we can talk to and be with them in a way that allows them to feel loved and appreciated.  Chapman explains that in some marriages it is as if one person is speaking English and the other person is speaking Chinese.  Neither person understands what the other is saying.  Therefore, the relationship is contentious, unsatisfying, and often on the brink of falling apart.

What Is Your Love Language?

You can easily find out. Merely go to and take the short test to determine your language.  Chapman has also written books on the love languages of children and teenagers, great reads if you have kids.  Take advantage of the quiz and the book.  I am confident it will help to improve even the best of relationships.


Stay true and be you —


Create a Life You Love
Participate in the Online Edition of Lines In The Sand